Mixtape Monday [3/9/12]

With the great weather at the weekend we had plenty of time to take in the vibes of last week’s mixtape releases, and luckily for us there were some great ones, from A$AP Mob’s crew compilation, Footsie’s SB.TV presented Grime to a unique hip hop project from Barbadian teenager Haleek Maul, once again we’ve got a great selection to round-up and are sure the is something to suit everyones tastes…


A$AP Mob – Lord$ Never Worry

After a number of delays A$AP Rocky’s crew finally come through with their debut collective mixtape, which whilst not as strong as Rocky’s solo work has some outstanding moments such as the Flatbush Zombies featured single Bathsalt, A$AP Twelvy’s AraabMuzik produced Y.N.R.E and Rocky’s collaborations with Jim Jones and Raekwon; Freeze and Underground Killa$. While this is overall a strong project, the compilation approach does mean that most of the A$AP members loose the spotlight to featured artists and Rocky. It would be good to hear some solo projects in order to hear some of their individual characters and styles coming through before returning to the group format in the future.



Hannibal King – OG Sour Cream & Onion

Queens, NY production villain Hannibal King, known for his Villains Gone Bad beat tape series as well as his work with Children Of The Night and World’s Fair’s Remy Banks, drops his latest instrumental project comprising ten new lidback soulful, jazz inspired beats that King’s name is becoming known for.



Supreme Cuts & Haleek Maul – Chrome Lips

16 year old Barbadian Haleek Maul teamed up with Chicago based production duo Supreme Cuts to add yet another outstanding project to the Mishka Records catalogue. One of the most exciting and original sounding hip hop releases we’ve heard in a while, Haleek’s introspective and self depreciating raps (which are well beyond his years) over Supreme Cuts’ dense and futuristic production which some how manages to walk the line between dark and sinister yet ethereal and uplifting at the same time. On paper Haleek could easily come across like a product of Odd Future and A$AP Mob, and we’re sure that he will attract comparisons, however to par him with that brush is lazy. We’d recommend just hitting play and witnessing for yourself.



Footsie – ZB2

Set to be one of the biggest grime releases this year, Footsie dropped off his latest mixtape last week via SB.TV, the Grime veteran continues to expand on his arsenal, dropping tracks such as Dedicated, For The Better and End Of The Road which show off a deeper dimension to his work. The project includes guest contributions from Maverick Sabre, D Double E and Chronik, with production from the likes of Filth Collins and Funt Case as well as Footsie himself.



Trae Tha Truth – Tha Blackprint

Despite having been banned from radio stations nationwide due to his music having been affiliated with a gang-related shooting, the legal battles that followed and then having to face personal loss, Trae Tha Truth has managed to emerge on top, due to the support of a whole host of huge names such as Drake, Rick Ross, Styles P, J. Cole and Lupe Fiasco, all of whom the husky voiced rapper toured with, as well as T.I. with whom Trae recently inked a record deal, with the first move being to drop this new highly anticipated mixtape project. With input from the likes of R.Kelly, Jeezy, DJ Khaled, Meek Mill, Kendrick Lamar, T-Pain, Tyga, Bun B, of course T.I. and many more, as well as entirely original production, the project managed to trend on Twitter when it initially dropped and it looks like with a whole lot more people listening to the Houston rapper’s output hopefully underrated Trae will receive the recognition he deserves from here on out.



SpaceGhostPurrp – Mysterious Phonk (Instrumentals)

After building up a lot of hype around himself via the mixtape circuit and dropping his official album debut earlier this year, the up-and-coming rapper/producer has decided to give fans a chance to focus on his skills behind the board a little more carefully, by liberating the beats from his album as a free download.


Words by Grant Brydon

Edited by Natalia